Saeman finalist for national award

Printer-friendly version

Sauk Trail's Rebecca Saeman is one of four state finalists for the 2018 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Saeman is a mathematics and reading intervention teacher. She worked as a math specialist at Park and Northside starting in 2008. She was at Northside the next two years. In 2011, she was at Northside and Sauk Trail and has been at Sauk Trail exclusively since 2012. She earned her bachelor's degree in elementary education from Edgewood College in 2005 and master's degree from UW-Madison in 2014.

Saeman was also a finalist in 2016. Sauk Trail first-grade teacher Susan Hammer was one of two state recipients that year.

The 2018 awards recognize those who teach in grades kindergarten through sixth grade. The other state finalists are:

  • Michelle Butturini, a fifth- and sixth-grade mathematics teacher at Reedsville Elementary/Middle School.
  • Michelle Howe, a science and agriscience teacher at Lodi Middle School.
  • Alicia Korth, a first-grade teacher at Lincoln Elementary School in the New London School District.

“These teachers demonstrate their care and love of students and the teaching profession,” State Superintendent Tony Evers in a statement. “Their passion helps to inspire our future inventors, doctors, and software developers who will certainly impact our ever-changing world. I wish our finalists well in the next stage of the Presidential Teaching Awards process.”

Applications from Wisconsin’s finalists will be judged at the national level by a committee organized by the National Science Foundation, which administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. The five Dimensions of Outstanding Teaching drive the evaluation process.

The panel may select one teacher in mathematics and science in each state to receive the award. Up to 108 awards are given each year. Each recipient also receives $10,000 from the National Science Foundation.

Kromrey's Kathy Hiteman won the honor in 2012. Kromrey's Sonja Hungness was named a state finalist in 2017 and is expected to learn in the summer of 2019 if she has been selected.

Since 1983, more than 4,400 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession. Learn more on the PAEMST website.