Hammer, Saeman finalist for prestigious award

Printer-friendly version

Sauk Trail first-grade teacher Susan Hammer and math-reading intervenionist Rebecca Saeman are national finalists for the 2016 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Up to two teachers from each state will be selected to receive the 2016 PAEMST award at the national level. Teachers selected will recieve $10,000 and an all-expense paid trip to Washington, D.C., where awardees will be honored at a variety of ceremonies.

A state ceremony honoring Saeman and other state finalists will be held on Oct. 12 in the Milwaukee area.

"You represent the best of a cadre of outstanding mathematics and science teachers in Wisconsin,'' State Superintendent Tony Evers said.

Hammer has taught at Sauk Trail for 30 years. She has taught first grade for 26 years. She has served on numerous committees, attended the reading and writing workshops in New York and most recently has been involved in math curriculum and equity. She has a bachelor's degree in elementary and special education from North Dakota.

"I have been very fortunate to be a part of the District, where I have had the opportunity to grow as an educator and work with incredibly talented colleaguese, administrators, students and families,'' Hammer said. "It is truly an honor to receive this nomination. I share it with my colleagues. It is together that we do great things.''

Saeman worked as a math specialist at Park and Northside starting in 2008. She was at Northside the next two years. In 2011, she was at Northside and Sauk Trail and has been at Sauk Trail exclusively since 2012. She earned her bachelor's degree in elementary education from Edgewood College in 2005 and master's degree from UW-Madison in 2014.

Kromrey science teacher Kathy Hiteman won a national honor for K-6 teachers in 2012. Since 1983, more than 4,400 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession. Learn more on the PAEMST website.