Srinivas receives national recognition

Printer-friendly version

MHS senior Anaka Srinivas has received honorable mention recognition in the writing-creative non-fiction division of the National YoungArts Foundation annual contest.

Fewer than 700 of the nation's most accomplished young artists from 40 states were recognized in the visual, literary and performing arts. Only six Wisconsin students were recognized. This year's award winners represent the top 9.5 percent of applications across 10 artistic disciplines. The contest is open to students in grades 10-12.

You can read more on the National YoungArts Foundation website.

As an honorable mention recipient, Srinivas will have the opportunity to participate in one of YoungArts's regional programs, where she will be able to take master classes in her discipline and network with other winners and master artists from across disciplines.

"I'm super psyched,'' she said.

Since 1980, the National YoungArts Foundation has partnered with educators, after-school, summer, and community arts programs to seek out, identify and recognize emerging outstanding young artistic talent. 

Recipients are selected through a blind adjudication process conducted by an independent panel of highly accomplished artists.

YoungArts alumni include actresses Viola Davis, Anna Gunn, Zuzanna Szadkowski and Kerry Washington; Broadway stars Raúl Esparza, Billy Porter, Andrew Rannells and Tony Yazbeck; recording artists Josh Groban, Judith Hill and Chris Young; Metropolitan Opera star Eric Owens; musicians Terence Blanchard, Gerald Clayton and Jennifer Koh; choreographers Camille A. Brown and Desmond Richardson; visual artists Daniel Arsham and Hernan Bas; internationally acclaimed multimedia artist Doug Aitken; television writer, producer, and director Jenji Kohan; New York Times bestselling author Sam Lipsyte; and Academy Award-winning filmmaker Doug Blush.

Visit the National Young Arts Foundation website to learn more.