MHS girls snowboard team wins state

Printer-friendly version

The MHS girls snowboard team captured its fifth consecutive WIARA state championship, while senior captain Dylan Veit won the overall title in the boys competition on Saturday, Feb. 13 at Mount La Crosse.

The Cardinals finished with 81 points. Slinger finished second with 107 points. Six teams competed at the state meet, which consisted of the slalom, giant slalom and boardercross.

Senior Ella D'Orazio finished second overall. She was second in the slalom, fourth in the giant slalom and fifth in the boardercross.

Chloe Larson finished fourth in the slalom, seventh in the boardercross and 10th in the giant slalom. Eden Larson was sixth in the slalom and eighth in the boardercross. Emma Chandler was fifth in the giant slalom, eighth in the slalom and ninth in the boardercross.

The MHS boys snowboard team finished third out of eight teams at state. The Cardinals had 200 points. Slinger captured the state title with 104 points, while Waukesha was second with 165 points.

Veit took second place in the boardercross and giant slalom and thrid in the slalom. He was the only individual to place in the top three in all three disciplines.

The MHS boys and girls snowboard teams each captured the Southern Conference championship this season. D'Orazio was the girls MVP, while Veit was the boys MVP.

On Sunday, Feb. 14, the MHS boys skiing team finished ninth out of 20 teams at state with 611 points. Hartland Arrowhead won the team title with 111 points.

The top finishers in the three disciplines for the Cardinals were Zach Ostreng, who took 10th in the giant slalom, Griffin Ward, who took 23rd in the slalom, and Nathan Shaw, who took 62nd in the Super-G.