Kromrey's Hungness named PAEMST finalist

Printer-friendly version

Kromrey seventh-grade mathematics teacher Sonja Hungness was announced as a 2017 state finalist for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

She is the fourth District teacher to be named a finalist since 2012. Kathy Hiteman, a sixth-grade science teacher at Kromrey, was one of 102 teachers to receive the award in 2012, while Sauk Trail's Rebecca Saeman and Susan Hammer were named finalists in 2016. The District is still waiting to hear if Hammer or Saeman will be selected.

Hungness is also one of five Wisconsin educators who have been named finalists for the PAEMST, considered the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government for mathematics and science teachers.

The 2017 awards recognize middle and high school teachers. The other finalists are:

  • Danielle Carlson, science teacher at Fennimore Middle and High School.
  • Rick Erickson, high school science teacher at Bayfield High School.
  • Kristin Michalski, high school physics, Project Lead the Way, and astronomy teacher at East Troy High School.
  • Kevin Reese, mathematics and Advanced Placement Calculus and Statistics teacher Clintonville High School.

“These teachers inspire a love of learning in their students,” State Superintendent Tony Evers said. “They engage our kids in the subtleties of science and the marvels of mathematics to bring these subjects into focus for today’s world and in shaping the future.”

Established by Congress in 1983, the PAEMST program recognizes teachers who develop and implement a high-quality instructional program that is informed by content knowledge and enhances student learning. Since the program’s inception, more than 4,700 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession.

Applications from Wisconsin’s five finalists will be judged at the national level by a committee organized by the National Science Foundation, which administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. The five Dimensions of Outstanding Teaching drive the evaluation process:

  • Mastery of mathematics or science content appropriate for the grade level taught.
  • Use of instructional methods and strategies that are appropriate for students in the class and that support student learning.
  • Effective use of student assessments to evaluate, monitor, and improve student learning.
  • Reflective practice and life-long learning to improve teaching and student learning.
  • Leadership in education outside the classroom.

The panel may select one teacher of mathematics and one of science to receive a Presidential Teaching Award from each state and four U.S. jurisdictions, with up to 108 awards given each year. In addition to recognition and professional development opportunities, award recipients receive $10,000 from the National Science Foundation. Nominations for the 2018 awards, which will recognize kindergarten through sixth-grade educators, are expected to open in fall.