Kromrey team wins Mathcounts regional

Printer-friendly version

A team of four Kromrey students took first place at the Mathcounts Southwest Wisconsin Regional at the Lowell Center in Madison on Saturday, Feb. 3 and qualified for the state meet in Sheboygan next month.

Team members include Franklin Hu, Hansen Jin, Dheeraj Pasikanti and Sanjay Suresh. The coach is Abigail Ochberg.

Meanwhile, Kromrey students Daphne Wu, Amanda Zhu and Krish Parikh also advanced to state as individuals.

Kromrey won with the highest team round score added, which is then added onto the average of the mathematics individual competitive exams to outdistance Velma Hamilton Middle School of Madison by 0.5 points. The top three teams in the regional competition advance to state competition along with 13 individuals. The third place was Eagle School of Madison.

Glacier Creek also sent a team that placed fourth. Harsha Chilakapati, Avril Srivastava, Teddy Burkard and Caleb Sanders comprised the team, which was coached by Monica Gupta and Oh Hoon Kwon.

The top four teams at the state competition qualify for the national competition in Washington, D.C. in May.

Visit the Mathcounts website to learn more.