Five MHS HOSA students take 1st at state

Printer-friendly version

Five MHS HOSA (Future Health Professionals) Club members were state champions at the State Leadership Conference in Wisconsin Dells last month.

Julia Hylbert and Sophia DeOliveira were state champions in the two-person Forensic Science event, while Akshay Kelshiker, Gene Kim and Jayden Lee took first place in the three-person Original Medical Innovation event.

In all, 10 MHS students finished in the top 3 in state events. The conference was held April 14-16 at Chula Vista Resort.

The following students qualified and will attend for the HOSA International Leadership Conference in Orlando this June: Sophia DeOliveira, Shreya Godishala, Julia Hylbert, Akshay Kelshiker, Gene Kim, Jayden Lee, Jenny Lee, Kate Patterson. Anders Clark also qualified but will not be attending.

Emery Engling and Gene Kim were elected to state leadership positions. Four students -- Amruth Addanki, Sandra Culligan, Sophia DeOliveira and Gene Kim -- were recognized with the Barbara James Service Award.

MHS physical education teacher Jochen Hylbert is the club's adviser and has served in that role for eight years.

Please visit the Wisconsin HOSA website or the Department of Public Instruction HOSA webpage to learn more.