Dahler selected Coca-Cola Scholar semifinalist

Printer-friendly version

MHS senior Lauren Dahler is one of fewer than 1,900 students to be named a Coca-Cola Scholar semifinalist.

There were 1,896 students selected from more 95,000 submitted applications from across the United States. Dahler is one of 32 Wisconsin students to be selected as a semifinalist. The only other student selected from Dane County is Madison La Follette's Dija Manly.

Semifinalists must now submit a new application, which will be reviewed by Coca-Cola's Program Reading Committee in January. After this review, 250 semifinalists will advance as regional finalists, with 150 becoming Coca-Cola Scholars.

Dahler currently serves as the DECA Club president and Current Events Club co-president at MHS. She also is a member of Model United Nations, Student Voice Union and National Honor Society. She has served as a Link Crew leader, which pairs upperclassman as mentors for incoming freshmen, the past two years. She was a member of the varsity dance team as a freshman and sophomore.

She is the treasurer of MHS chapter of High School Democrats of Wisconsin. She also worked as an intern on Tony Evers gubantorial campaign and was selected to participate in the Dane County Youth Governance Program, serving in public protection and as a judiciary board member.

Some of Dahler's accolades include receiving the AP Scholar Award this year, the dance team academic excellence award in 2016-17, and a DECA District 3 series champion in apparel and accessories marketing in January 2018. She advanced to the state competition, where she took fifth place, thereby also qualifying for the international competition.

She also was named the Best Small Delegation Award at the University of Toronto Model United Nations Conference as a junior. She was a delegate to the World Affairs Seminar in 2017. Dahler also has taken first place in the Friends of Pheasant Branch Conservancy photo competition.

Dahler is also an occasional/seasonal volunteer for Boys and Girls Club of Dane County and MOM.