Srinivas named Coca-Cola semifinalist

Printer-friendly version

MHS senior Anaka Srinivas had been named a 2020 Coca-Cola Scholar semifinalist.

More than 93,000 applications from across the United States were submitted and fewer than 1,930 were selected as semifinalists, including fewer than 40 in Wisconsin. Srinivas was just one of three Dane County students selected. In January, 250 will be selected as regional finalists and 150 will be named Coca-Cola Scholars later in 2020.

Shelby Bacus, a 2014 MHS graduate, was named a Coca-Cola Scholar, while Lauren Dahler was a semifinalist last year.

The Coca-Cola Scholars award was established in 1986. The award is given to students who demonstrate a commitment to academic excellence and civic engagement in school and in the community.

The Coca‐Cola Scholars Foundation, a joint effort of Coca‐Cola Bottlers across America and The Coca‐Cola Company, is one of the largest corporate‐sponsored, achievement‐based scholarship programs of its kind in the United States.

The foundation has awarded approximately 600 scholars and more than $65 million in scholarships.

Coca-Cola Scholars will travel to Atlanta, the international headquarters of The Coca‐Cola Company in early April. Over the four-day weekend, the finalists participated in leadership seminars, toured local landmarks, engaged with former Coca‐Cola Scholars and participated in a range of activities including a community service project.

Visit the Coca‐Cola Scholars Foundation website to learn more.