Six named Presidential Scholar candidates

Printer-friendly version

Six MHS seniors --  Ava DeCroix, Noah Ehrhardt, Maylynn Hu, Caleb Radtke, Stephen Shi and Anaka Srinivas -- have been selected as candidates in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program sponsored by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars and the U.S. Department of Education.

They are fewer than 100 seniors from Wisconsin to earn the honor. MHS had the most candidates of any high school in Wisconsin. Approximately 600 students nationwide will be named semifinalists in April, and the 161-member Presidential Scholar class will be announced in May.

Students have three paths to become a Presidential Scholar. The majority are selected based on broad academic achievement. Approximately 20 will be chosen based on their scholarship and talent in the arts. Another 20 will be picked based on their ability and accomplishments in career and technical fields.

Eden Girma, an MHS graduate in 2014, was named a U.S. Presidential Scholar that year.

The program was established in 1964 to recognize the nation's most distinguished high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. More than 6,000 students have been named a U.S. Presidential Scholar since the program's inception.

To learn more, visit the Presidential Scholars Program website.