MHS students busy at Solo & Ensemble

Printer-friendly version

Hundreds of MHS music students performed at the Wisconsin School Music Association Solo and Ensemble Music Festival on Saturday, Feb. 22 in Middleton.

The total events students participated in for the day were 30 vocal, 144 string, 116 woodwind, 68 brass, 35 percussion, 45 piano, 3 guitar, and 9 miscellaneous

In all, 159 MHS band and orchestra events received a 1-star state qualifying rating for their performances and are headed to the WSMA State Solo and Ensemble at UW-Platteville on Saturday, April 25. There were also more than 40 MHS choir performers who received a 1-star state qualifying rating for their performances.

"Congratulations to all students, teachers, coaches, and families who helped make this possible,'' MHS orchestra teacher Steve Kurr said. "And congratulations to all of the MHS performers on their hard work.  The MHS band and orchestra are at their peak now due to all of the individual practice hours and increased musicianship through the solo and ensemble experience.

"Working on solos and ensembles teaches a whole different set of skills from large orchestra rehearsal. Students work on independent musicianship skills, they become more individually responsible, and they simply spend more time with their instruments in the weeks leading up to this festival. February is the month of greatest musical growth in our music classrooms.”

Learn more about the Solo & Ensemble Festival on the WSMA website.

The following students have qualified for the WSMA State Solo and Ensemble:

Violin: Julian Westerlund, Kailani Pardon, Erin Caldwell, Celeste Li, Clara Landucci, Henry Gruett, Amanda Zhu, Grace Rosholt, Mary Hsu, Quin Regan, Julia Zhang, Jahnvi Datta, Nicholas Lobaugh, Daniel Lee, Sai Mallannagari, Vivian Wagner, Jonah Guse, Thomas Hsu, Mia Chapman, Ethan Ewer, Sanjay Suresh, Kaitlyn McIntosh, Sarah Miller.

Violin duet: Clara Landucci, Kailani Pardon.

Violin choir: Daniel Lee, Jonah Guse, Nikki Yu, Vivian Wagner.

Viola solo: Shruti Parthasarathy, Monroe Durand, Clara Landucci.

Cello solo: Mateo Guiao, Abby Evans.

Bass solo: Kailani Pardon, Clara Landucci, Jonah Guse, Abby Evans.

String quartet: Norah Martin, Akshita Pattnaik, Rose Giefer, Lauren Halterman, Celeste Li, Julia Zhang, Tyler Wilson, Hayden Van Gilder, Ellen Zhou, Kaitlyn, McIntosh, Ethan Ewer, Mateo Guiao, Grace Rosholt,
Kailani Pardon, Clara Landucci, Claire McLellan, Sanjay, Suresh, Nicholas Lobaugh, Jack Wozniczka, Ian Bohachek, Nikki Yu, Jonah Guse, Luke Whittingham, Abby Evans, Jahnvi Datta, Kate Vatthauer, Nihar Ballamudi, Sara Zahn, Mary Hsu, Rachel Yard, Poojha ProbaharSundar, Chloe Boehnen, Henry Gruett, Jena Peterson, Ivan Cermak, Abby Evans.

Piccolo solo: Camille Malak, Ella Hursh, Emma Kostecki.

Flute solo: Lian Lewis, Madison Xiao, Zinnia Nie, Ariya Shah, Cheyenne Halverson, Molly Keebler, Ella Hursh, Camille Malak.

Flute duet: Madison Xiao, Ella Hursh, Emma Kostecki, Camille Malak.

Flute trio: Madison Xiao, Ella Hursh, Zinnia Nie.

Oboe solo: Annie Chang, Ivan Cermak, Chaewon Yoo, Calli Whitehead.

Bassoon solo: Erica Collin.

Clarinet solo: Grace Rosholt, Sophia Patton, Amanda Zhu, Jacob Mandelbrot, Aria Djamali, Janice Chung, Natasha Kinne.

Clarinet duet: Natasha Kinne, Earl Bischoff.

Clarinet trio: Elizabeth Schink, Abby Zumbrunnen, Amber Kaplan, Amanda Roesch, Emily Tormey, Anna Jordan.

Bass clarinet solo: Harley Burch.

Alto sax solo: Genevieve Kubsch, Noah Wallach, Ben Foster, Giovanna Iossa, Sarah Mounajjed, Sam Gustafson, Aidan Sippel, Nathan White, Amanda Roesch.

Sax duet: Kyra Batley, Giovanna Iosso, Trevor chau, Genevieve Kubsh, Akshita Pattnaik, Malia Faessler.

Tenor sax solo: Sam Eggert.

Bari sax solo: Trevor Chau.

Flute choir conductor: Ella Hursh.

Recorder duet: Ella Hursh, Madison Xiao.

Soprano sax solo: Amanda Roesch.

Bass clarinet duet: Moniek Smink, Harley Burch.

Flute oboe duet: Molly Keebler, Olivia Bote.

Trumpet solo: Taylor Huber, Taylor Nordent, Katie Stockhausen, Alex Ashley, Alexander Marrione.

Trumpet trio: Nik Steele, Alex Ashley, Reilly Wagner, Jackson Harless, Kyra Ginsberg.

Horn solo: Max Foland, Flynn Ewer, Elinor Kosek, Lucas Miller, Holly Fullerton.

Trombone solo: Jack Ohly, Noah Petersen, Colette Wiese, Yale Huang, Andrew Carr, Tyler Huff.

Trombone quartet: Aaron Stettner, Noah Petersen, Tyler Huff, Jack Ohly.

Snare drum solo: Micah Goff, Max Balasubramaniam, Torin Braun.

Marimba solo: Luke Whittingham, Sam Carey, Charlie Fenske, Max Balasubramaniam.

Vibraphone solo: Genna Bertalot, Sebastiaan De Waart.

Marimba duet: Molly Warholic, Sebastiaan De Waart.

Marimba quartet: Joseph Steinmetz, Torin Braun, Charlie Fenske, Nate Hall.

Marimba trio: Genna Bertalot, Nick Hinz, Colin Keenan.

Percussion ensemble: Molly Warholic, Jude Fleischman, Charlie Fenske, Althea Wincek, Sebastiaan De Waart, Annie Warriner, Harvey Baiely.

Jazz improv solo: Amanda Roesch, Sam Eggert, Jack Ohly.

Jazz combo: Jack Ohly, Aaron Boorstein, Ben Foster.

Gretchan Gustafson, piano solo

Piano solo: Nikki Yu, Mary Hsu, Claire Shin, Ella Hanson, Norah Martin, Celeste Li, Mena Garber, Evelyn Anderson, Mara Allen.

Guitar solo: Rohan Shah.

Flute-percussion duet: Ella Hursh, Luke Whittingham.

Flute-violin duet: Nikkie Yu, Madison Xiao.

Madrigal Ensemble (Chamber Singers): Katie Ausman, Avery Brutosky, Carter Brutosky, Michael Chiaverini, Will Christensen, Matthew David, Ava DeCroix, Kai DeRubis, Elizabeth Engle, Julian Engle, Jude Fleischman, Nora Griffith, Varun Gupta, Andrew Karbusicky, Natalie McLain, Ashton Reed, Tommy Richards, Zoe Salyapongse, Torii Snortum Haney, Abby Sperger, Michael Zeimentz.

Music Theater-Soprano/Alto Solo: Avery Brutosky.

Soprano Solo: Avery Brutosky

Baritone or Bass Solo: Michael Chiaverini.

Music Theater-Tenor/Bass Solo: Michael Chiaverini.

Music Theater-Tenor/Bass Solo: Matthew David.

Tenor Solo: Matthew David.

Soprano Solo: Ava DeCroix.

Musical Theater - Soprano/Alto Solo: Ava DeCroix.

Music Theater-Soprano/Alto Solo: Elizabeth Engle.

Soprano Solo: Elizabeth Engle.

Baritone or Bass Solo: Varun Gupta.

Soprano Solo: Julia Flynn.

Music Theater-Soprano/Alto Solo: Natalie McLain.

Soprano Solo: Natalie McLain.

Music Theater-Soprano/Alto Solo: Ashton Reed.

Soprano Solo: Ashton Reed.

Alto Solo: Abby Sperger.

Music Theater-Tenor/Bass Solo: Austin Swaney

Soprano Solo: Vivian Szot