MHS has 16 National Merit finalists

Printer-friendly version

MHS learned recently that 16 students have advanced and are National Merit finalists, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced.

Last fall it was announced that there were fewer than 320 National Merit semifinalists in Wisconsin. Only one high school -- Madison West (19) -- had more semifinalists than MHS. In all, 84 students from the Dane County area were semifinalists this year.

The 16 MHS students are Ava DeCroix, Noah Ehrhardt, Adam Hanson, Mary Hsu, Maylynn Hu, Egan Johnson, Zach Leffel, Caleb Radtke, Serena Raval, Ella Roach, Elena Sacchetti, Rohan Shah, Stephen Shi, Anaka Srinivas, Alexa Williams, and Sean Zhang.

Approximately 420 MHS sophomores and juniors took the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test (PSAT) last year. All juniors in the District last year took the ACT. Both are college entrance exams. Only juniors can qualify for National Merit scholarships.

Approximately 1.5 million students took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test last year. Less than 1 percent were awarded semifinalist status nationwide.

Ninety percent of semifinalists are expected to become finalists who will be eligible to receive one of about 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million in the spring of 2020.

NMSC is a non-profit organization that operates without government assistance and was established in 1955. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 440 business organizations and higher education institutions. This is the 65th year of the scholarship program.