MHS captures 2 WIAA Sportsmanship Awards

Printer-friendly version

The MHS girls tennis and boys volleyball team were among the programs recognized by the WIAA for alternate fall season Sportsmanship Awards.

The Cardinals have now won eight WIAA Sportsmanship Awards overall, including three in boys volleyball and two in girls tennis. The previous two awards in boys volleyball came in 2016 and 2018, and the other one in girls team tennis award came in 2014. They also won the award in girls basketball in 2017 and in boys team tennis in 2007 and 2009. MHS captured the girls team tennis title last month, while he boys volleyball team lost to Kimberly in the title match.

The WIAA, in cooperation with Rural Mutual Insurance Company, selects winnners in each sport after every season.

The other winners of the alternate fall season state team tournament Sportsmanship Awards are Washburn in girls volleyball, while De Pere and McFarland received the honor in boys soccer.

The WIAA Sportsmanship Award is presented to one school program and community – or communities in the case of cooperative programs – in each of the state team tournaments that exemplifies outstanding sportsmanship. Award winners are determined by the conduct and sportsmanship displayed by athletes, coaches, cheer and support groups, mascots, bands and spectators. Additional consideration is given for the effort of school administrators and chaperones to insure support for their teams are positive and that the highest ideals of sportsmanship are upheld.

Award winners receive a trophy and banner in recognition of the honor. Schools receiving honorable mention are acknowledged with a certificate of recognition. The selection process includes contributions and evaluations from contest officials, tournament management, police and security personnel, crowd control and ushers, WIAA staff members, and area hotels and restaurants on occasion.