Martin, RtI team win grant from Education Foundation

Printer-friendly version

MHS teacher Larry Martin and the Response to Intervention Behavior Committee received a grant from the MCPASD Education Foundation on Wednesday.

The Education Foundation announced its six grant winners for the spring 2013 cycle on Wednesday morning. The other staff members to receive grants were Park's Amy Callies, West Middleton's Pernille Ripp, Sauk Trail's Anne Gustafson, Kromrey's Kerry Burke and Clark Street's Erich Eifler. The grants totaled more than $3,200.

To see photos from the event, please visit the Foundation's Facebook page.

The 2-hour yellow bus tour included stops at the six schools. Seventeen MHS band members played "On Wisconsin" in each of the schools before chair Courtney Ward-Reichard presented each recipient with flowers donated by Copps, a certificate and an Education Foundation pin.

"It was great to have the band members be a part of this,'' Ward-Reichard said. "It made an already special day even more special.''

Martin wrote a grant for the RtI Behavior Committee. The program focuses on ways to acknowledge students and staff members as the Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports program is implemented at MHS. All 1,900-plus students will be impacted by the $1,000 grant. Other committee members include Nicole Morehouse, Cherie Hellenbrand, Tim Simon, Michael Kusch, Ellen Fish and Jody Schriever.

"Thank you to Education Foundation for the grant,'' he said. "It will allow us to get a great start on our efforts to recognize all of the positive behaviors exhibited by our students."

In all, the grants should impact approximately 3,000 students in the district.

The grants are the first awarded by the Foundation since it was established in 2011. The Foundation has raised more than $70,000 thanks to generous contributions by corporate partners J.H. Findorff & Son, BMO Harris, HR Imaging and the MGE Foundation. In addition, MCPASD staff members have contributed more than $15,000.

The six recipients will also be honored at the Foundation's inaugural Spring Celebration on Sunday, May 19 from 6:30 to 8 p.m. at the Performing Arts Center. The event is free and open to the public.

A story about all of the winners is available on the district website.