Youth Frontiers wins grant from Education Foundation

Printer-friendly version

The Youth Frontiers Courage Retreat received a grant from the MCPASD Education Foundation on Wednesday.

The Education Foundation announced its six grant winners for the spring 2013 cycle on Wednesday morning. Kromrey's grant was written by counselor Kerry Burke. The other staff members to receive grants were Park's Amy Callies, West Middleton's Pernille Ripp, Sauk Trail's Anne Gustafson,  Clark Street's Erich Eifler and Middleton High School's Larry Martin. The grants totaled more than $3,200.

To see photos from the event, please visit the Foundation's Facebook page.

The 2-hour yellow bus tour included stops at the six schools. Seventeen MHS band members played "On Wisconsin" in each of the schools before chair Courtney Ward-Reichard presented each recipient with flowers donated by Copps, a certificate and an Education Foundation pin.

"It was great to have the band members be a part of this,'' Ward-Reichard said. "It made an already special day even more special.''

Burke wrote a grant for the one-day Youth Frontiers Courage Retreat that all seventh-graders participate in. The retreat helps children learn to accept others, resist following the crowd and act with moral courage. The Foundation’s $1,000 grant will help ensure the continuation of this valuable opportunity.

"It was a thrill and an honor to receive the Education Foundation grant,'' she said. "We know it will have a huge impact on our students next year.''

In all, the grants should impact approximately 3,000 students in the district.

The grants are the first awarded by the Foundation since it was established in 2011. The Foundation has raised more than $70,000 thanks to generous contributions by corporate partners J.H. Findorff & Son, BMO Harris, HR Imaging and the MGE Foundation. In addition, MCPASD staff members have contributed more than $15,000.

The six recipients will also be honored at the Foundation's inaugural Spring Celebration on Sunday, May 19 from 6:30 to 8 p.m. at the Performing Arts Center. The event is free and open to the public.

A story about all of the grant winners is on the district website.