Two students place in top 3 at Madison event

Printer-friendly version

Kromrey's eighth-grader Sanjay Suresh and sixth-grader Raghav Gopalakrishnan took first and third place, respectively, out of 20 middle school students at the Madison Area Science, Technology & Engineering Rising Stars program on May 6.

Suresh's project explored the use of 3-D printing for creating violin bridges, while Gopalakrishnan's project focused on sorters and how they work based on the weight and size of the objects being sorted.

* Sixteen MCPASD fifth- and sixth-graders advanced to the Mega Math Meet earlier this month at UW-Madison.

The team of Jonathan Schecher, Nikhil Quintin, Harry Jin, Ray Feinberg, Grace Wo, Kevin Wu, Raghav Gopalakrishnan and Roddy McLellan took first place. Thirty teams from around the area competed. Meanwhile, Kromrey sixth-grader Grace Wu placed third overall individually.

* Invitations have been handed out to all Kromrey and Glacier Creek students who have work published in our school literary magazines -- The Gallery at Kromrey and In Black & White at Glacier Creek.  

All of these students should plan to attend special Fine Arts Nights celebrations, which will be held on May 22 at the Performing Arts Center. Kromrey's event starts at 6 p.m. and Glacier Creek's will start at 7:30.

Black & White Editors include: Elle Bernier, Olivia Bote, Katy Bouril, Mia Burkholder, Kallen Erlandson, Tidwell Garton, Abby Gessler, Gabi Gruba, Flynn Hughes, Mykal Jones, Karlye Kriewaldt, Greta Kunze, Timothy Manning, Alisha Olson, Keilah Reinhart, Finley Richgels, Savannah Savangsy, Alex Seaborg, Laney Seffrood, Iman Shahzad, Macy Skubal, Abby Sperger, Erin Sullivan, Sadie Symonds, Kate Thomas, Nathan Tumbleson, Grace Winkelmann, Addy Ystenes and Giovanna Zwettler.

Gallery Editors: Margaret, Aiyenero, Iliana Aviles, Avery Brutosky, Ethan Buechner, Ashwika Chavan, Talia Dolin, Richalatou Ezoula, Erin Gonter, Mateo Guiao, Rowan Hansen, Heba Haq, Elaina Jones, Ceia Kasper, Irene Kim, Mia LaRico, Anastasia Leffel, Avery Liddicoat, Emily Lynch, David Ma, Christie Munson, Hannah Nelson, Cate Ohly, Janice Peng, Grace Rosholt, Koby Salsman, Warren Shepard, Fei Smith, Grace Streets, Nick Tormey, Emily Tsipis, Nancy Williams, Daphne Wu.