Kromrey's Coughlin wins Kohl award

Printer-friendly version

Kromrey band teacher Darlayne Coughlin has been named a 2021 Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Teacher Fellowship recipient.

Coughlin was one of just 18 teachers selected in the CESA 2 region and 101 overall in Wisconsin.

Since 2015, eight MCPASD staff  members -- Glacier Creek special education teacher Tim Ashe (2015), MHS and Kromrey German teacher Jolene Wochenske (2015), Kromrey principal Steve Soeteber (2016), MHS orchestra teacher Steve Kurr (2017), Glacier Creek band teacher Jeanne Hammes (2017), Glacier Creek sixth-grade teacher Rhonda Veroeven (2018), MHS band teacher Doug Brown (2020) and Glacier Creek sixth-grader teacher Lyndsey Ebben (2020)  -- have received Kohl Educational Foundation awards. In addition, Elm Lawn and Sunset Ridge art teacher Monica Kmak was honored in 2018 when she worked in Dodgeville.

Fellowship recipients are educators who have been chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.

Coughlin will receive $6,000, while Kromrey will also receive $6,000.

Kromrey band teacher Kimberly Reynolds, MHS bilingual resource teacher Daria Borokhim, and Glacier Creek eighth-grade math teacher Jennifer Lohr were also Kohl nominees this year.

Coughlin has taught band in the District for 15 years. She has been instrumental in Kromrey's band vision to "nove beyond the notes to cultivate a life-long passion and drive for creativity, curiosity, and community through a vision of students as accomplished learners and evolving musicians in pursuit of artistry.” She works to make sure students are actively engaged in their learning by providing authentic opportunities. She also has been instrumental in getting instruments in the hands of any student who wants to participate in band and ensuring that the literature studied is diverse enough to appeal to all students.

The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established in 1990. The program has handed out nearly $25 million to Wisconsin educators, students and schools.

"Education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation,'' the former U.S. Senator said in a statement. "I am very proud of the accomplishments of these students, teachers, and principals and look forward to the great contributions they will make in the future.''